I feel so inadequate – not!

I have read on Facebook modelling groups about the ‘stash’ syndrome.

A stash is the pile of models waiting to be built. I have 49. This may sound like a lot, and I did wonder that myself. Then I saw people with hundreds of kits in their stash and, in a few cases 2-3,000! How can you possibly build that many in a lifetime?

Here are some answers I have read:-

  • He who dies with the most models wins!
  • My biggest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my stash for what I told her I paid for them.
  • But I need 16 different versions of the same kit!

This all makes me feel much better about my modest efforts, and I no longer feel inadequate.  😉

Pile 1

Pile 1

 

Pile 1 side view, so you can see the sneaky ones.

Pile 1 side view, so you can see the sneaky ones.

 

Pile 2

Pile 2

 

Pile 2 from the side, so you can see the hidden stack.  ;)

Pile 2 from the side, so you can see the hidden stack. 😉

21 thoughts on “I feel so inadequate – not!

    • I keep saying that. But the 1/200 Hood is due this year, and I already have the 1/200 Bismarck in the stash, and they would look so good in a glass coffee table/box display thingie together.

      Like

    • We have to stop buying and start building. I think I know why we procrastinate so much… The fear of failure or looking at an imperfect build on a shelf.

      Like

      • I think you’re on to something. I have a couple of kits I bought, knowing that I wouldn’t touch them until my skills got better–and when will that day come.

        Heaven forbid I buy a Pocher kit.

        Like

      • That is an extraordinary challenge. When I read about them, the reviewer said you need lots of “holding your head in your hands time”–I see now that there are lots of places for advice and supplementary building guides–so perhaps it is easier now.
        I did come across the Porsche kit in a store in Japan (I think it was around $500) I didn’t want to stare at it too long–that whole abyss thing. I am sure you understand.
        That being said, there are some big kits I would like to try some day–Maybe the Tamiya Enterprise or Famo. Of course, I might try the 1:12 64 Mustang–The building looks easy, but the painting seems challenging.
        What is on your White Whale list?

        Like

      • I have the Trumpeter 1/350 Nimitz in 1975 fit – that’s the same scale of task as the Tamiya Enterprise. I reckon it’ll take as long to do the Air Group as it will the ship. I have all the PE and resin upgrades for it too.

        Like

  1. A stash provides options. I’m in the hundreds for my stash and still growing. I doubt that I will come close to building all of my kits but I enjoy the fact that I can choose from so many whenever I want. It’s like having my own personal hobby shop.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.