Fighting me all the way – Part 2.

You can find part 1 here.

My current project is the Revell (ex-MPM I think) 1/32 scale P-39D Airacobra.

It has, to say the very least, been a fight. There are few locating tabs or pins, loads of flash, and many parts just don’t fit. I have never had to use so much filler, with subsequent so much sanding, on a kit. But picture tell a thousand words, so here we go:-

 

All the pegs again! The wings were warped and ill-fitting in other ways too. All the pegs + lots of filling and sanding to come.

 

All the gaps! I'm not sure how clear all the gaps at the wing roots are in this picture - but they were bad.

All the gaps! I’m not sure how clear all the gaps at the wing roots are in this picture – but they were bad.

 

How can they justify not including seatbelts in a kit this large.

How can they justify not including seatbelts in a kit this large? The cockpit looks empty! These are not strictly the correct belts, but they’re all I have and are way better than nothing.

 

Belts are a work in progress. See how empty the seat looks without them?

Belts are a work in progress. See how empty the seat looks without them?

 

Seatbelts in - that looks a lot better. Even if the fiddly nature of photoetch (PE) did cause me to mumble some VeryBadWords.

Seatbelts in – that looks a lot better. Even if the fiddley nature of photoetch (PE) did cause me to mumble some VeryBadWords.

 

It’s taken most of this weekend to do the seatbelts, but the end result is worth it.

6 thoughts on “Fighting me all the way – Part 2.

  1. Pingback: Nanette’s Decals Are Done – Weathering Next Weekend. | Grumpy Old Modelling

  2. Pingback: More Decals. | Grumpy Old Modelling

  3. Pingback: Making progress. | Grumpy Old Modelling

  4. Pingback: Now I can get on! | Grumpy Old Modelling

  5. Pingback: Almost the weekend… | Grumpy Old Modelling

  6. It’s funny how we can spend many hours on just a little part in a large project.

    I have done that a lot.

    It’s like we are afraid of going on and meet failure like my paint job on my Mosquito.

    Like

Comments are closed.